The Universalist church of Cooperstown was organized April 26, 1831, in the schoolhouse of district No. 19, in this village. Among those who were instrumental in effecting the organization were Ellery Cory, Holder Cory, Henry Beadle, B. Taylor Comstock, Seth Doubleday, Isaac Fitch, Esek Bradford, Joseph Perkins, Levi H. Pierce, Levi Wood, James I. Paul, William Wilson, Richard Cooley, Stephen Gregory, and Abram Van Horne.

The first officers of the church were Esek Bradford, Abram Van Horne, Levi H. Pierce, Seth Doubleday, and Stephen Gregory. Rev. Job Potter became the first pastor, and officiated in that capacity for a period of five years. The first house of worship was erected in 1832, at a cost, together with the lot, of \$1393.73, services having previously been held in the school-house mentioned in the preceding paragraph.

The church proper was organized Aug. 21, 1858, with the following members: Holder Cory, Ellery Cory, Levi Wood, Benjamin Pierce, Olive Wood, Almira Scott, Mary A. Wood, Catharine Jarvis, Laura Barnum, Mary Savage, Wm. B. Stevens, Matilda Stevens, J. S. Parker, Hannah Ball, Giles C. Smith, Ann Bowen, Maria Paul, Eveline Roberts, Elizabeth Marcellus, Aurelia Wilson, and Polly Williams. In 1860 the church edifice was repaired and remodeled.

The following is a list of the pastors of the church from 1836 to the present time: Rev. Job Potter, from April, 1831, to April, 1836;

Rev. O. [Obadiah]. Whiston, from April, 1836, to December, 1846;

Rev. J. A. Bartlett, from April, 1847, to November, 1849;

Rev. D. C. [DeWitt Clinton] Tomlinson, from November, 1849, to June, 1850;

Rev. F. J. Carney, from June, 1850, to April, 1851;

Rev. J. A. [James Aikin] Aspinwall, from April, 1851, to April, 1854;

Rev. C. [Charles] W. Tomlinson, from August, 1854, to December, 1865;

Rev. W. W. Clayton, from March, 1866, to March, 1868;

O, Perkins, from March, 1868, to July, 1869;

C. L. Wait, from November, 1869, to November, 1875;

E. E. Peck, from April, 1876.

The present officers of the church are as follows: Isaac K. Williams, Seth Temple, and Fred. Reustle, deacons; Abijah Barnum, Harmon Groat, Frank Robinson, Fayette Hinds, and Fred. Reustle, trustees; Fayette Hinds, treasurer; Fred. Reustle, clerk. The church is now in a prosperous condition, and is under the pastoral care of Rev. Ellery E. Peck.

D. Hamilton Hurd, *The History of Otsego County, New York.* (Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott & Co., 1878), p. 274