[Manchester (Clifton Springs), Ontario Co.]

The First Universalist Church of Clifton Springs was originated April 1, 1852. The first members of this society were Horace Goodale, Edwin Warners, S. C. Hersey, Otis Biddlecome, Samuel Cuer, Francis Wood, Chauncey Spear, Thomas Biddlecome, Joshua Van Dusy, William Thomas, Thomas Warfield, William H. Post, Charles Severance, George L. Spear, E. B. Dewey, Alonso Teachout, Lyman Craig, William Hanna, Miles Baker and Thomas M. Biddlecome. Sylvenus Hersey was appointed moderator at the meeting for organization, and George L. Spear, clerk; R. P. Mc Bride, treasurer, Lyman Crane, E. B. Dewey and Edwin Warner were chosen trustees. The erection of a building was begun in 1852, and completed February 1853, when it was dedicated. This church cost \$2,200. organization was formed February 14, 1858. E. B. Dewey and Horace Goodale were the first deacons, and H. L. Van Dusen the first clerk. There were 13 members on the original formation. The church now numbers 51 members. Rev. E. B. Dewey continues to serve the church as deacon. A. L. Van Dusen is his present associate. The pastors of this society have been Revs. L. I. Brayton, Asa Saxe, D.D., I. M. Atwood, B. L. Bennett, G. W. Montgomery, D.D. and E. S. Corbin. The last named settled as pastor in August 1873. The Sunday school was organized in 1856. Its present superintendent is Charles H. Gillett.

Frederick W. Beers, History of Ontario County, New York (1878) p. 182

Transcribed on 23 Sep 2007 by Karen E. Dau of Rochester, NY